Home / Insurance / How Can You Qualify For Personal Injury Protection Insurance Coverage After a Injury Accident?

How Can You Qualify For Personal Injury Protection Insurance Coverage After a Injury Accident?

 Personal Injury Protection, or PIP, is a type of car insurance that is available in a few locations around the United States, including Florida. PIP coverage is required in Florida. PIP is designed to pay any medical bills (as well as burial costs, lost wages, and/or other losses) incurred as a result of an accident. PIP is sometimes known as “no-fault” coverage because there should be no legal liability in the case and the plaintiff’s insurance premiums should not be penalized in any way. However, if your PIP limits are exceeded and someone is found to be at fault for the accident, their liability insurance may cover the excess costs.

Qualify For Personal Injury Protection Insurance

How Can a Personal Injury Lawyer Help?

 After an accident, you can use your PIP coverage to collect the money you need as soon as possible. However, many injured accident victims are astonished to realize that even getting PIP benefits is difficult. The best personal injury lawyer in state for your case can assist you in receiving all of the money and benefits you are entitled to from your insurance company. Once your PIP limits have been exhausted, your lawyer can assist you in filing the necessary claims against the “at fault” party. This may entail conducting a detailed investigation into your accident and negotiating with insurance companies on your behalf.

Do I Have PIP Coverage If I’m Injured in a Car Accident?

If a patient has been in an accident and is unsure whether or not they are eligible for PIP coverage, there are a few items to examine first.

1) Was the patient treated for his or her injuries within 14 days of the accident?

PIP Dolman Law Group Accident Injury Lawyers, PA Personal Injury Protection Lawyers

They may be qualified for coverage if treatment was received within 14 days of the injury.

PIP coverage does not apply if treatment is not received within 14 days of the accident, and the patient will not be qualified to file a claim.

(Note: ‘Therapy’ is a broad term, but here are a few things you might have done that are regarded genuine treatment methods: After the accident, you were followed up with a Primary Care Provider, Hospital, or Walk-In Clinic, you received roadside emergency services, you traveled in an EMS vehicle that provided medical attention, or you were examined/treated by someone qualified to provide emergency transportation and treatment.)

2) Is the patient the owner of a motor vehicle that is insured?

If they do, they are qualified for PIP coverage and should make a claim with their insurance company. However, certain motor vehicles, most often motorbikes, are not covered by PIP coverage in some jurisdictions.

If they don’t, they can be eligible for coverage under a relative’s policy if they have to live with them.

3) Does the patient have a blood or married family who owns an insured vehicle?

If they do, they are covered under PIP and should file a claim with their relative’s insurance company.

If they don’t, they may still be covered under the driver’s policy if they were a passenger in a car involved in the accident and should file a claim with the driver’s insurance provider.

When it comes to eligibility, you must first determine what you are eligible for. You are entitled to a minimum of $2,500.00 in coverage by default. An EMC, or Emergency Medical Condition, is a changing factor in coverage allowance. Simply explained, this is an emergency medical condition acquired or a pre-existing ailment triggered as a result of the accident’s trauma. While you must seek and receive treatment within 14 days of the accident to be eligible for the minimal $2,500.00 in coverage, there are no time limits on when an EMC must be reported. If an EMC is diagnosed by an MD, DO, PA, ARNP, or Dentist, your PIP coverage may be increased to $10,000.00. Some insurers, like as Allstate and Esurance, provide higher allowances and enable additional titles to provide eligible EMC diagnosis, potentially enhancing your chances of receiving coverage for more unusual diseases.

What is an EMC?

An EMC is a medical condition characterized by severe acute symptoms, which may include intense pain, such that the absence of rapid medical intervention is likely to result in any of the following:
substantial threat to the patient’s health, impairment of physical function, or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or portion

medical condition characterized

EMC is an arbitrary benchmark enacted by the Republican-leaning Florida legislature to meet the needs of the state’s vehicle insurance business (the strongest lobbyists for the Republican party). EMC is not a phrase that doctors are taught to comprehend; it is simply an arbitrary method designed to limit the amount of claims filed each year and cap the vast majority of those claims at $2500.00 in medical benefits.

As a result, even when the symptoms satisfy the above-mentioned Florida Statute standards, many physicians will fail to clearly indicate that a patient has manifested with an EMC. Unless they treat auto accident victims on a regular basis, most doctors are unfamiliar with the term EMC. Even doctors who treat vehicle accident victims on a regular basis are confused if they need to mention the “emergency medical condition” in their reports. In fact, the new PIP Act contains an obvious uncertainty in this regard.

If no EMC is identified or diagnosed by one of the certified professionals during the initial inspection, it is still possible that a problem will develop in the future, allowing you to obtain the remainder of the coverage allowance.

This is essential because a medical condition you develop in the future as a result of the accident may have been received in a delayed form, and you may be able to collect the remaining $7,500.00.

If you have been diagnosed with a clear-cut Emergency Medical Condition and have been treated for it or are presently being treated for it, but your insurance company refuses to give you with full coverage, you may have a strong case. If you have concrete proof that you have an EMC that was diagnosed by a qualified physician, it is required by law in the state of Florida for insurance companies to pay the organizations for medical expenditures and lost income.

wages lost (because to forced time off work), funeral costs, and other other charges If money that the insurance company owes these groups is withheld for any reason and you’re feeling adrift, contact Dolman Law Group Accident Injury Lawyers, PA as soon as possible. We can offer you with the knowledge, tips, and legal firepower you need to prosecute these insurance companies.

Check Also

How to Stay Safe While Riding a Motorcycle – How common are motorcyce accidents?

 Motorcycle accident victims frequently suffer excruciating wounds, expensive medical expenses, and even lost pay. All …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *